After the Digging

After the Digging After The Digging Provides An Exceptional Look At The Early Work Of Acclaimed Poet Alan Shapiro His First Collection Of Poems Allows Readers To Realize His Strong Sense Of Historical Narrative And Gives Them Reference On How To Read His Later Poems Inspired By His Time At Stanford In The Late Seventies, The Book Is Divided Into Two Parts The First Is A Sequence On The Irish Famine In The Mid Nineteenth Century The Second, A Series On Demonic Possession In Late Seventeenth Century New England These Poems Give Voice To The Pain And Delusion Of Those From Other Periods And Inevitably Recall The Many Evils Of Our Own Century Powerful That A Young Poet Can Handle This Subject So Well In A First Book Is A Pleasure In Itself Robert Von Hallberg, Contemporary Literature,

Alan Shapiro born 1952 is an American poet and professor of English and Creative Writing at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill He is the author of nine poetry books, including Tantalus in Love, Song and Dance, and The Dead Alive and Busy.In addition to poetry, Alan Shapiro has also published two personal memoirs, Vigil and The Last Happy Occasion.

[Reading] ➶ After the Digging By Alan Shapiro –
  • Paperback
  • 46 pages
  • After the Digging
  • Alan Shapiro
  • English
  • 07 November 2019
  • 9780226750415

8 thoughts on “After the Digging

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *